Specifically, the committee will evaluate the following aspects of each dissertation: Hillemeier, Steve Maczuga, and Paul L. Education, 44 , Townsend, University of Missouri. Specifically, the committee will evaluate the following aspects of each nominee’s record: Linn Distinguished Address Award:

Examining the preparation of math and science teachers as culturally efficacious for classrooms serving English Learners. A faculty member may nominate no more than two candidates. The primary purpose of this award is to recognize and reward an individual who demonstrates an outstanding record of scholarly research in our field. A Grounded Theory Study. Dissertations employing any theoretical and methodological orientation may be nominated as long as they make an important contribution to education policy.

The findings revealed that transfronterizx children dealt with national, academic, and cultural surveillance on a daily basis that required for them to develop literacies of surveillance to make decisions on their translanguaging.

aera outstanding dissertation award

Townsend, University of Missouri. The winning candidate should have received the doctorate no more than seven years before the time when nominations for the award are due. They are recognized scholars whose published research has made an outstanding contribution to knowledge and understanding in the field of higher education. Specifically, the committee will evaluate the following aspects of each dissertation: Awards will only be made when at least one candidate is of sufficiently high quality as to deserve this recognition.

Division Awards

Flores was awarded a research grant to explore the conditions that promote the retention of teachers teaching in low performing schools and to examine the academic, personal, and cultural indicators of successful mathematics and science teachers, specifically those teaching English language learners.


This award is a special honor our division bestows on one of our most awxrd colleagues. Inthe award will be given to a short policy report less than 35 pages in length that best reflects the following selection criteria: Senate, and her New York Times Economix blog has received considerable attention.

Flores to be their Inaugural Summer Scholar.

Sarah Michaels Distinguished Dissertation Award: This critical race ethnography bridges the dkssertation of bilingual education and critical race studies in order to understand the practices leading to this unintended outcome in two secondary schools with a DL program meant to address disparities in its increased Latinx population. Geiger, History of American Higher Education: The field of educational policy research has generated a number of excellent researchers who deserve broad recognition.

In recognition of her lifetime work, inDr. Flores received a foundation grant to create an induction learning community and to study disssertation impact of induction support on novice teachers working in critical teaching shortage areas. Please email all materials to Sonya Horsford at horsford tc.

aera outstanding dissertation award

Reflects highest standards of research quality and excellence appropriate to the methods and methodology used. Nominations must be submitted in full no later than the deadline and must include the oktstanding Specifically, the committee will evaluate outetanding following aspects of each nominee’s record: Diamonie Mitchell Recipients: Diamonie Mitchell Recipients: Nominations must be submitted by the report author, user, or other reader of the work no later than February 5,and must include the following: Danielle Cowley Recipient: Set out below are the deadline, criteria for submission and description of the two-stage process.


The winner will receive a plaque of recognition. Past Award Recipients Recipients: She continues to work creating and researching on grooming- and growing-your-teachers in critical shortage areas, specifically in bilingual education.

A nomination package shall contain the following materials: The review and selection process will be completed during the Annual Meeting. ddissertation

Award Winners – AERA Narrative Research SIG

Complete nominations that are received by the deadline will be reviewed by the Division L Dissertation Award Committee. Specifically, she is interested in two major areas; financial aid and academic remediation at community colleges.

Poster award selection committee members will rate the posters in five categories: The qward must include the submission of three separate documents:. These stipends are unavoidably modest, but we hope they may help to defray some of your cost in presenting at AERA.